Skip to content

Can Finance by Simplified with Visual Thinking

September 22, 2011

One of the first things I did with visual thinking, besides applying it to technology, was using it in an area which I found extremely difficult, or rather abhorred. Finance.

I started with a reading of Benjamin Graham’s book, Security Analysis. Here he explains the concept of Intrinsic Value a concept which is quite difficult for most people to understand. Note, this was one of my first attempts at applying visual thinking to an area which I was by no means an expert on. The video below, shows you the application of visual thinking in understanding this topic.

(URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SL37GwA6Sc)

Visual representation of Intrinsic Value described by Ben Graham in “Security Analysis”

Now here’s the interesting part of the appeal of visual thinking. This video which I created, has garnered approximately 17,158 views on YouTube in two years. More interestingly for me personally, was the fact that till I converted the text into a visual my understanding of the text was incomplete. I just didn’t get the complete picture till I visualized it and drew it out.

Note: At this stage my only experience with visual thinking was a one day course by Sanjay Vyas on Concept Visualization (see the about page for more details).

Next post I’ll drill in to other areas and applications of visual thinking.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

